Bennett — Year Five Birthday Letter

Dear Bennett,

Nope. You’re not turning five. You’re not going to start kindergarten this year. It’s not allowed. I’ve changed my mind. Growing up this fast is now completely against the rules, okay?! Don’t you do it!

I can’t even wrap my mind around how big you are and how much you’ve grown. Over the past year, I’ve had my first taste of being Mama to a “big kid,” and it was crazy exciting! You played on a real t-ball team with real uniforms and a real team name — the Knuckleballers — and a real coach named Justin Wade, who wasn’t your dad. How in the world did you get a coach with your dad’s name? So funny! And for the first time, I got to take you to practice every week and spend my Saturday mornings watching you run the bases (and sometimes put dirt in your pocket). Watching you play t-ball was so much fun!

You also finished your first year in Classical Conversations. You had the best tutor ever, whom everyone else calls Mrs. Buffington, but you simply dropped the “Mrs.” right from the start and just called her “Buffington” all year. She was your absolute favorite, and I’m pretty sure you won her heart, too! You learned so much about so many things, but your favorite subjects were History and Latin. Your best two history songs were about the Industrial Revolution (“Watt’s steam engine, Cartwright’s power loom…”) and the Cold War (“In the 1980s, ooo ooo ooo ooo, British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher…”). And I’m not sure if you loved Latin because the future tense had “bo” in it, or because of Hannah the Hippo! Either way, our first year in CC was a blast, and I was so excited to watch you learn and grow with all your new friends.

Much to your mama’s surprise and delight, you started reading chapter books by yourself this year! It started with Nate the Great and Henry and Mudge, and now you’re into Magic Tree House books. It makes me smile every time I see you reading, and I love how enthusiastically you read aloud. Never stop reading! You will learn and grow so much!

This year was also a year of traveling. Early on, we went to Mexico, and you couldn’t stop talking about how you wanted to live there because it was the best place ever. Last month, you went on a guys’ trip to Georgia to watch the Braves play, and now Atlanta has taken Mexico’s place in your heart. Whenever people ask you, you can’t even seem to remember much about Colorado, where we were only a week ago, because all you can think about is Atlanta!

Bobo, you’re my best Bo in the whole world. I love you more than all the eyelashes, all the doorknobs, and all the worms. [Reader: That’s just an inside joke.] I love you infinity plus infinity plus infinity. Thank you for being my Bobo and for teaching me every day how to love more like Jesus, and thank you for being such a superheroic big brother for Lukie to look up to.

Happy not-birthday, because you’re SO not allowed to turn five today! Happy Tuesday!

Love,
Mommy

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

