How My Love Loves Me – Day 12

Love NEVER ENDS.
1 Corinthians 13:8

Before Lionel Ritchie and Diana Ross start singing “Endless Love” on your mind’s iPod, I want to step back a bit. I do believe that my Love and I will eternally love each other as fellow heirs of salvation, but I don’t believe that we’ll be in this blissful state of eternal romantic love together with each other because, well, Jesus said that we won’t. While I like to imagine that my Love will hold a special place in my heart for all eternity, I know that eternity will be all about God: worshipping Him, loving Him, enjoying Him, and honoring Him with my gifts. So to me, that’s what this verse is ultimately about. That endless love.

John told us that God is love, and that the only way we know how to love is because He loved us first. So that’s how I see our marital love: it’s a symbol of the eternal. Inasmuch as my Love loves me and sacrifices for me and shows me that I’m worth fighting for, I know that God does all of that and more. Over the years, my Love has been painting a picture of how Jesus loves His Bride, the Church, and gave Himself up for her. It’s a beautiful picture, and it’s serving to help me love not only my husband more, but my Savior more. That impacts eternity, don’t you think?

I love you, my Love! Happy Valentine’s Day!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

