How My Love Loves Me – Day 11

Love always PROTECTS, always TRUSTS, always HOPES, always PERSEVERES.
1 Corinthians 13:7

I just – oh, this verse! It’s so perfect! It should be on a plaque or something. Wait, I’m sure it is. I need to check Hobby Lobby. Anyway, I should really make four different entries to do this justice, but I’m running short on time since today’s Valentine’s Day and I already started a day late to make this pan out properly. (There’s one more tomorrow! Think of it as a bonus.) Let’s just take it one verb at a time:

PROTECTS:
Check out this definition of the original Greek word for protect – “by covering to keep off something which threatens, to bear up against, hold out against, and so endure, bear, forbear”

I love it! Our marriage faces many threats every day; the enemy wants to destroy every good and holy thing, and Christian marriage is high on that list. Any way he can get a wedge in, he’ll take it. Love is fierce, though, like a mama bear. My Love, I guess that means I’m calling you a mama bear! (I mean, I can’t be too far off; the definition says “to bear up against.”)

TRUSTS:
Also translated as “believes.” I love the placement here after “protects,” because it necessarily implies that this belief is not passive. It’s not an, “Oh, God’s got this. We’re good. We’ve got a great marriage.” That’s a recipe for disaster and maybe even divorce. While keeping his eyes open to any possible threats and protecting against them, my Love continually trusts God with our marriage and believes that He brought us together for a reason. My Love knows we have a purpose together, and that we are worth fighting for.

HOPES:
I’m going to share the definition on this one, too, because it’s too good – “in a religious sense, to wait for salvation with joy and full confidence.”

What does marriage have to do with religion and salvation? EVERYTHING! That’s why it exists in the first place, to point us to salvation and to Jesus’ love for His Church. So together, my Love and I wait for salvation with joy and full confidence. That’s what it means to have hope – in marriage or out. In any situation, there is hope in Christ. When I’m down, my Love reminds me of our hope, and I do the same for him.

PERSEVERES:
Well it’s not all roses! And no one wakes up every morning and lives every second feeling excited and motivated to protect, trust, and hope in love. This last one is really the key to everything: we push through the hard times – the misfortunes, the injuries, the unfairness, the sorrows, the fear, the anger – and we endure. The definition even includes the adverbs “bravely and calmly,” which I would like to change to adjectives and put into the encyclopedic entry for my Love. He is brave and calm. He bravely and calmly perseveres, not just in marriage – which can get hard sometimes – but in life. He’s resolute, he knows what God has called him to do, and he will not give up.

He is an amazing example to me, and I am so filled up!

I love you, my Love!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

