How My Love Loves Me – Day 10

Love DOES NOT GLOAT OVER other people’s SIN, but TAKES ITS DELIGHT IN THE TRUTH.
1 Corinthians 13:6

“I told you so.”

Ooooo how we hate those words! The thing is, they usually come after some colossal act of pride, immaturity, and short-sightedness, and so their truth is what stings so badly. The salt of the truth turns to acid when the other person gloats over being right. I may have been wrong, but it can’t be right that the person is enjoying it so much!

It’s true. They may have “told me so,” but once I learned they were right, the secondary lesson I learned was that this was a know-it-all person who just likes knowing it all and rubbing it in people’s faces. Did I feel loved? NO!

Well, I hope you know where this is going because my Love is not like that at all! Has he ever “told me so”? Of course. But the difference is in his reaction when it all falls apart; he doesn’t gloat.

Here’s one of my favorite verses:

Do not let kindness and truth leave you;
Bind them around your neck,
Write them on the tablet of your heart.
~Proverbs 3:3

That’s my Love, right there. He tells the truth, kindly. When I think he’s wrong and find out later that he wasn’t, he still tells the truth, kindly, and he loves me and helps me figure out what to do with the mess I’ve made. If he gloated – or, as many translations say, “[rejoiced] at wrongdoing” – he would be building a wall between us. But we’re supposed to be one, right? He’s supposed to love me as Christ loved the Church, right? How does rejoicing over my sin help this along?

Instead, he sees the situation as an opportunity to help, to reinforce truth, and to grow with me in righteousness. Now THAT’s something to rejoice over.

I love you, my Love!

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

