How My Love Loves Me – Day 8

Love is NOT IRRITABLE.
1 Corinthians 13:5

My Love is REALLY good at this one! It takes a lot to exasperate or to provoke him. Of course, we’ve had our disagreements here and there, but I would be hard-pressed to think of a time when he was just plain irritable or came home easily angered. It’s just not his nature.

One of the things I love about him is his even temper. Unlike me, he is consistently able to withhold any immediate reaction he feels in a given situation; instead, he thinks and then responds. This quality undoubtedly makes him an excellent physician, the kind you want handy in an emergency situation!

I think it speaks volumes about him that this is one of his favorite verses:

Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger; for the anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God.
~James 1:19-20

While I can’t say that I’ve always felt like he was quick to hear whilst in the midst of arguing with him, (because I was busy arguing and telling him he wasn’t listening), I can honestly say that he has always been an amazing example to me of the kind of temperate and gentle spirit that the verse above describes. Being slow to speak and slow to anger does not come remotely naturally to me, so God has truly given me a very great blessing in my husband.

I love you, my Love!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

