How My Love Loves Me – Day 3

Love is…NOT JEALOUS.
1 Corinthians 13:4

Confession: I had no real concept of a healthy, godly relationship when I met my Love. While I had a lot of theoretical ideas based upon sermons and Christian books on dating and marriage, my actual expectations were very influenced by my culture. One of these expectations was jealousy.

I actually believed that a boyfriend expressing anger when another guy looks at his girl was an expression of his love for her. (It’s not, by the way. It’s an expression of his insecurity and, well, anger issues.)

Since my Love never exhibited this behavior, I interpreted it early on as his loving me less than he could. Or, more personally, as my not being worthy of being jealous over. Ah! What a GIANT LIE from the enemy! The Bible says that love isn’t jealous, and I certainly could have cited chapter and verse for that even in those days, but I just didn’t get it.

My Love did. He knew that I loved him. He knew that God loved him. He knew that if God had picked me for him to marry, then it would happen. He knew that if some other guy looked at me lustfully and I responded to it, then that would be a clue to him that God HADN’T picked me for him to marry! He was secure in that truth, and he just… loved me.

Still does. He trusts God, and he trusts me, and he just loves.

But there’s no “just” about it – his love is a rare one.

I love you, my Love!

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

