How My Love Loves Me – Day 2

Love is KIND.
1 Corinthians 13:4

I wrote a post a while back about kindness, how it is not merely a synonym for “nice.” Here is a coarse example of what I mean:

It is not *nice* to shove someone. However, if that someone is standing in the path of a speeding vehicle, shoving him out of the way is certainly kind.

In studying the Word and in seeking the Lord to change my heart over the past months and years, I have come to believe that kindness is not something that can be manufactured. You can certainly fake politeness, and you can learn to “play nice.” Kindness, however, seems truer, deeper, and wiser. Kindness is seeing worth and goodness where others don’t see it. Kindness perseveres even in the face of rudeness. Kindness is never selfish. Kindness is smothered with – actually it consists of – compassion and humility.

My Love is an amazing example to me of kindness, and I have learned much from him. I spent a good deal of my younger life (somewhat necessarily) wrapped up in myself. This started as a coping mechanism, and I didn’t even know I was doing it. Over the years, as the Lord has gentled me into realizing my astounding selfishness, He has used my Love to show me how to be kind. The key is that you can’t just make yourself do it. It comes from a heart transformed by God.

My Love shows kindness in the sincerest and quietest of ways. He serves. He encourages. He helps. He listens. He prays. He even says the hard thing when it needs to be said. While I spent years performing somewhat similar acts of “kindness” in order to evidence my godliness, he would simply be kind. He didn’t have to think about it or figure out ways to show it; it’s just who he is.

This is related to his love language, so maybe that’s why he make it look so easy, but I am still regularly amazed at his selflessness and his willingness to serve. I mean, who does that?

My Love, that’s who. And it’s because he knows Jesus.

I love you, my Love!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

