Letting Pride Be Your Guide

(Nahum 3)

I truly fear for my nation. Surely God’s mercy has a limit. Ask Sodom, Gomorrah, Nineveh. Ask Israel and Judah. Yesterday on the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, one of the performances was by a group blatantly encouraging sexual perversion. Some of the men performing were cross-dressers, while the others were dressed in tiny shorts and thigh-high red leather spike-heeled boots. They addressed the audience: “Ladies and gentlemen, and those who have yet to make up their minds.” (Which I find confusing; isn’t the argument that this isn’t a choice? That people are “born this way”?) The song this group sang was all about accepting yourself — whomever you’d like to be, because “it’s beautiful” — so that you can accept others. “Let pride be your guide” seemed to be a climactic moment of the lyrical performance, while “celebrate you to elevate you” was a refrain.

Frankly, this is not about acceptance. It’s not. Many people participating and watching and celebrating this “progressive” performance may think it was, likening it to overcoming racism, but this is not the same thing. This is The Enemy at work. This is The Enemy targeting our children. What a happy topic to discuss with your child over turkey and dressing! “Mom, why is that man wearing red boots?” “Dad, is that a man or a woman?” Essentially, many families were undoubtedly forced to have age-inappropriate discussions that perhaps developed into arguments among the adults in front of the children. I’m thankful that my child wasn’t watching and was much too young to have any idea what he would have seen even if he had been. Who would have thought that the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade would do this, and that NBC would air it into our homes in the morning while all the children are home from school and waiting for Mom to finish cooking?

This is what America has become and is becoming. Later yesterday afternoon, my husband and I went to the Cowboys game because he got some free tickets at work. Susan G. Komen ads were all over the place. This organization is publicly known for its support of Planned Parenthood, the largest abortion business in the country! So by paying for a Cowboys ticket, (which we didn’t, but we did reap the benefits of someone else paying), you are contributing to the death of millions of babies. How quaint.

We are a country with an astronomical divorce rate, with millions struggling with addictions that destroy not only their hosts, but also the families affected. We are a country that disdains children as an inconvenience, tends to kill those that slip through to implantation, and then neglects, abandons, abuses, and intentionally perverts those who actually survive their mothers’ wombs. Even those children born into families determined to follow God and His intolerant ways are sucker-punched by NBC and Macy’s on Thanksgiving morning. How can God possibly stay His hand any longer?

Never mind the idolatry, greed, corruption, and exploitation that’s rampant in the government, in business, in sports and entertainment — our culture is so disgusting, yet we’re continually barraged with patriotic propaganda like unto the message from the cast of “Kinky Boots” yesterday morning: “Let pride be your guide.” (Whatever happened to letting your conscience be your guide? That was bad enough advice on its own, but it at least had a hint of morality to it.)

Pride. America. Old Glory. We should bleed nationalistic pride, right?! We are the land of the free and the home of the brave! More like the land of the licentious and the home of the shameless, like a prostitute spreading her legs under every green tree. Oh America, remember that pride goes before destruction, and a haughty spirit before a fall. Remember that God is opposed to the proud.

Where will we be, America, if God is opposed to us?

Just ask Nineveh. Sodom, Gomorrah. Think we’re God’s people? Chosen? A Christian nation? God’s country? Then ask Israel and Judah what it was like when God’s mercy ran out. Repent!

Christ-followers: Let us be on our knees every day for our country, and let us be willing to obey Him with humble boldness. My brother recently exhorted me to learn obedience now, while the obeying is easy. What is the cost now? Very little. The time will come — perhaps sooner than we expect — when the price of obeying God is devastatingly high. If we can’t obey now, how will we obey then?

“A disciple is not above his teacher, nor a slave above his master. It is enough for the disciple that he become like his teacher, and the slave like his master. If they have called the head of the house Beelzebul, how much more will they malign the members of his household!

“Therefore do not fear them, for there is nothing concealed that will not be revealed, or hidden that will not be known. What I tell you in the darkness, speak in the light; and what you hear whispered in your ear, proclaim upon the housetops. Do not fear those who kill the body but are unable to kill the soul; but rather fear Him who is able to destroy both soul and body in hell. Are not two sparrows sold for a cent? And yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father. But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So do not fear; you are more valuable than many sparrows.

“Therefore everyone who confesses Me before men, I will also confess him before My Father who is in heaven. But whoever denies Me before men, I will also deny him before My Father who is in heaven.

“Do not think that I came to bring peace on the earth; I did not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I came to set a man against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law; and a man’s enemies will be the members of his household.

“He who loves father or mother more than Me is not worthy of Me; and he who loves son or daughter more than Me is not worthy of Me. And he who does not take his cross and follow after Me is not worthy of Me. He who has found his life will lose it, and he who has lost his life for My sake will find it.”

~Jesus, quoted in Matthew 10:24-39, emphases mine

Author’s note: 
I know that this post is polarizing and can set many against me, calling me an intolerant bigot. This was not intended to be a blog post, but rather originated as a journal entry very early this morning after I spent time meditating on Nahum 3. I finished the entry with the word, “Repent!” and then closed my journal to pray. Immediately, my spirit became unsettled, and I sensed God telling me to share what I wrote. Literally, what God whispered to me in the darkness, He asked me to proclaim in the light. I am not surprised if this invites hatred, though in my flesh I really hope it won’t. In my flesh, I hope no one notices this post. In the Spirit, though, I know God wanted me to write it because He will use it. Maybe for one, maybe for many, maybe simply as another example of the truth being told and ignored. I don’t know. I do know that I’m obeying what I felt God prodding me to do. May my words encourage you to search your hearts and see if you are in the faith, and to turn to Him.
“Test yourselves to see if you are in the faith; examine yourselves! Or do you not recognize this about yourselves, that Jesus Christ is in you—unless indeed you fail the test?” 2 Corinthians 13:5
3 thoughts on “Letting Pride Be Your Guide

  1. Amen.

    We missed that act of depravity while watching the parade, and I am thankful. We did change the channel more than once to avoid sultry dancing, and the Victoria’s Secret billboard prominently displayed on a building behind almost ever float irritated me to no end. L asked a couple of times why I was changing the channel, and I told her that the people were dancing inappropriately. I made sure to remark on skill and beauty when people were dancing appropriately. I am sick of the rampant sexualization of our culture.

  2. I am not against you. Really, I am not.

    There is an argument across the world around homosexuality. If your side wins, we die- driven by intolerance to suicide, beaten by queer-bashers, hurt by loneliness so that we do not reach our potential. If my side wins, you win: greater acceptance and understanding of the whole range of humanity as created by God blesses everyone. Turn to Christ!

    • Bless YOU for responding in love. I am so truly sorry for the obvious hurt you have experienced by the words and actions of thoughtless or heartless people. Words are inadequate here, because I know that I don’t understand the struggles you’ve been through, but I feel like I must acknowledge our failure here. Christians (or sometimes those merely “so-called”) sometimes take what they read in the Bible and use it as an excuse to loudly proclaim their own prejudices, with no good result for anybody. I know that I do not personally understand the intense struggles faced by the LGBT community, but I do know that God truly loves us all and truly is powerful enough and gracious enough to lead us all into victory through the blood of Jesus Christ. Thank you for stopping to read my post, and for responding kindly and gently. I pray for less hurt, more truth, and more repentance. May the Holy Spirit be our guide, and not ourselves. Many blessings to you.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

