YOLO …from my journal

(I pray) that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give to (me) a spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of Him. I pray that the eyes of (my) heart may be enlightened, so that (I) may know what is the hope of His calling, what are the riches of His glory of His inheritance in the saints, and what is the surpassing greatness of His power toward us who believe.
~Adapted from Ephesians 1:17-19a

True and abundant wisdom, and with it, courage.

These things I need, so that I may constantly fight against the idols of this world. My heart is far too weighted by the cares and aspirations of the temporary. I need eternal eyes, truly. I grasp at the tenets of infinity, at the unimaginable fact that I will continue to exist forever, that so much of what I chase after on this earth is a phantom, but I know I don’t truly get it. How much of what I value, of what I work for, of what I pay for will be a regret as I stand at the judgment seat of Christ? And how much will be rewarded by Him as He judges it to be work well done? How much time, money, and energy am I wasting? Will I be ready for Him? It is unhelpful to compare myself to others in this, for we are all afflicted with this same deceptive sickness of the heart that courts finite happiness and incomplete satisfaction. Looking at others makes it worse, even as it makes me temporarily feel better. It’s too easy to see others’ sins and to ignore my own, giving myself a false reassurance that I’m good. Such deception is the sort that leads to damnation. I must compare myself instead to the Holy Scriptures, to push past the rebellious and selfish reactions of my heart to this holiness, reactions which the enemy uses to lead as many as he can to eternal ruin, and assess honestly how I stack up. How faithful am I being with this nanosecond of time that will affect infinity?

Not very: 

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

