Meet the Tettletons

tettletons

Their names are Stephanie, Abby, and Jody, and they need your prayers.

Stephanie and I know each other from middle school, high school, and youth group, but we were never really close (big schools, big church, different groups of friends). We haven’t kept in touch since then, as we moved in opposite directions for college, and then God built our lives in different cities. But, of course, we are Facebook friends, and this is how I know that she and her family very much need your prayers.

Their girl, Abby, is sick. And I’m a total wreck thinking about it. Really. After sending Stephanie a message telling her I’m praying for her, I went to do just that. And now I have a stuffy nose, a throbbing headache, and an aching heart. Here is what I thought and prayed (the small part I wrote down, anyway):

I don’t know how God can bear it. His love for His children is infinitely deeper than a mother’s love for her child, yet He must constantly watch them suffer… I’m totally wrecked right now thinking and praying for Stephanie and Jody Tettleton, whose little girl, Abby, needs a liver transplant. She’s in ICU right now. I don’t think she’s even two years old! Babies are not supposed to suffer like this; mamas and daddies shouldn’t have to watch their little ones in so much pain — bearing the weight of the Fall. It’s too heavy for us — how much more so for the tiny ones? It’s too much. Lord, heal this baby. You are the Great Physician — I lift Abigail Tettleton up to You begging for healing. I ask You also to pour into Stephanie and Jody supernatural peace, strength, and trust in You. You are good; You are so perectly good, even when we’re in the midst of pain. Show Stephanie and Jody, and all the grandmas, grandpas, aunts, uncles, and cousins how to praise and trust You in this storm. Move mightily, Lord. Do not let the enemy make them feel hopeless or alone, for they are far from it. Our God is the God of Heaven and Earth! Lord, pour out Your blessings on this Family!

Amen.

Although I don’t really know this family, I wept all morning for their hurt. I simply can’t imagine watching your baby in so much physical need. But I do know that God is great, and I know that prayers are made stronger when others join in the chorus. So please, even though you may not know them either, lift them up to the great Healer, for He is more than able!

Heal me, O LORD, and I will be healed; save me and I will be saved, for you are the one I praise.
Jeremiah 14:17
One thought on “Meet the Tettletons

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

