The Day I Drove Past Jesus

This was originally posted on an old blog of mine on July 31, 2008. It’s copied again here in its entirety as part of a series on the homeless. It is very hard for me to re-post this without edits, as it reveals a dark and judgmental heart. I can’t believe how honest I was the first time I posted this, but I’m trying to be inspired by my 2008, apparently courageous self. 

If you haven’t yet read my post about Jesus walking up to my car, I would like to pause and ask you to do so first.  I know that it’s kind of a long post, but that’s because it’s kind of important to me.  I hope you don’t mind the time investment.  This post is meant as a sequel to that one and I think it just makes sense to read them in order.  I’ll try to keep this one significantly shorter to make up for the other one.  🙂

So Jesus walked up to my car in Miami a little less than a year ago.  He was a filthy, possibly drunk, homeless man, but I already told you about that.  What I didn’t tell you about was that roughly a month ago, Jesus was in San Antonio and He was a lesbian beggar.  Let me back up a little.

After insulting Jesus in Miami, I had a serious change of heart.  That moment affected me in ways I can’t even begin to explain, even though I attempted to in the post.  (I’m still not happy with how I told it.)  Anyway, I decided that the best thing to do would be to get gift cards to Subway and hand them out.  If they’re really hungry, they can eat.  And as a bonus, it really was pretty healthy food.  Some hobos appreciated it and asked God to bless me while some refused it completely.  That’s okay.

Fast forward to San Antonio.  I really just didn’t expect to see homeless people here; I don’t know why.  I guess I associated them with Miami and thought things would be peachy here.  I mean – this is Texas, after all.  So, I have not kept up with my Subway gift cards, nor have I paid any attention to homeless people at all.

Therefore, at the intersection of Huebner and Babcock, when I saw a rather masculine-looking bum with a buzz cut, camo pants, and breasts, I did not have the upwelling of compassion I had become accustomed to in Miami.  Here was my actual thought process as I approached the intersection: “Is he holding a sign?  Wonder if he’s creative or if it’s the same as all the others.  Wait… no way is that a chick?  Ha – it’s a lesbian.  Weird.  I’ve never seen a gay homeless girl.”  And I turned the corner without another thought.  Until later, of course.  Not only did I dismiss her because she was homeless, but I also dismissed her because she was [probably] gay.

I could say a lot here, but I’m going to save it for a later post.  I just want to end with two questions and a reminder.

1.  Since when did God sanction a feeling of superiority among His followers?
2.  When is God ever pleased when we devalue His precious creation?

“For in the way you judge, you will be judged; and by your standard of measure, it will be measured to you.”

~Matthew 7:2

More soon.

_____________________________________________

(This post is part of a series on the Homeless, and how Jesus has been revealing my heart to me through them everywhere I’ve lived for years. To read all posts in this series, click here.)

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

