Resolutions: Bibles and Cake Pops

(Okay, so I’m a day late. No big deal.) The beginning of a new year is one of the best times — well, there’s no bad time, really; NOW is the best time, whenever that is, but I digress — to start a Bible-in-a-year reading plan! I very highly recommend this site: Back to the Bible. It gives you several different plans to choose from, so you can pick one that suits your fancy.

So why is it important to read the Bible in a year? It’s not. Which is why I’m not doing it in 2013, for the first time in five years. It hurts a little to say that, honestly. It hurts even more to admit that I gave up in 2012.

Last year, like the several before it, I embarked upon a Bible-reading journey. That year, I chose a chronological plan, printed it out, and stuck it in my Bible. Unfortunately for my reading plan, I was in my first trimester in January, February, and March. I had no hope. I could barely put on mascara and stare at the middle school students in front of me every day, much less read roughly three chapters of the Bible. And forget making dinner. So, I got behind. And then further behind. And still further. By my second trimester, I was feeling great, and I doubled up on my reading assignments to get me back on track by a certain date. (Six chapters per day! Whoa.) Anyway, it never happened. I had a baby. I didn’t sleep. I finally gave up completely in November, I think, but maybe it was before. It hurt my heart to give up. It pained me. I had made a commitment when I was 25 to read the entire Bible through every year for the rest of my life, so I felt like I was breaking a promise to God.

Nope.

It was my own commitment to myself, and honestly, it wasn’t a very good one to make long-term. In stressing quantity over quality, I lost a lot. (Especially when I was doubling up my readings. Good night!) My husband told me this all along, but I told him he was wrong. (He wasn’t.) I told him I needed to keep my commitment. (I didn’t.) I told him to worry about his own Bible study and let me do mine. (He did. Most of the time. Except when I complained about being behind on my reading. Which was all the time. So he just said things like, “You already know what I have to say about this.” I did. And I stuck my tongue out at him and dug in my heels.)

So now, for 2013, I am *not* reading the Bible in a year. I’m going deeper, starting with the rest of Titus, and then my husband and I will be digging into the prophecies of Daniel together. I’m excited, but a little sad to let go of what’s familiar.

What about you, though? I started this post recommending reading plans, and I still do. Have you ever read the whole Bible? Most people — even most Christians — haven’t. How long have you been a Christian? Have you read Habakkuk? Lamentations?

Okay, seriously, what about Leviticus or Numbers?

You should. Maybe don’t make a commitment to read the whole Bible every year for the rest of your life, but do it this year. I’m better for having done it in the past; I understand the big picture and its Author much better and in ways I never could have without having read Zephaniah and, yes, Numbers. You’re really missing out if you haven’t. So pick a plan and open your Bible every day. I mean, you probably spend a lot of time on Facebook, blogs, Pinterest, and Words with Friends, right? Seems like you have a few minutes for the Word of God if you dig around a little. 😉

It’s honestly not really important that you read the Bible in a year, but that you read it, all of it, and not just the parts that seem to you like they might be enjoyable or interesting. That’s why the reading plan is a really good idea at least once. It’s true that reading the whole Bible isn’t easy, especially if you’re new at it. But, making cake pops for the first time wasn’t easy, either, but that didn’t stop you because you knew it would be worth it. Well, this is the ultimate cake pop. You know, like a cake pop for your soul!

Dig deep in 2013. Stretch your roots into the Word. You’ll never regret it, and you’ll never be the same. Trust God on this one:

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

