TDOT: (Embarrassingly Belated) Days Twenty-Eight, Twenty-Nine, and Thirty

So it’s been so long that I almost let it go. But then I remembered that “TDOT” is thirty days. I only did twenty-seven, and that’s really a stretch anyway since I combined so many posts toward the end! Still, I made a commitment. Although I lagged on my posts, November really was a month of more thanksgiving for me, and it has extended through now as I reflect on Advent. God is teaching me so many things; I’m being stretched and pulled and challenged and sometimes frustrated by His relentless love for me that refuses to let me stay where I am. Oh, how He loves us so.

On Wednesday, November 28, I struggled a bit, wrestling with the darkness of my heart. I didn’t have many answers, but I was thankful for the God who does have them. The Advent reading for the day, Jeremiah 33:14-15, talked about justice and righteousness to come, knowing that one day we will be fully delivered from oppression and darkness:

Behold, the days are coming, declares the LORD, when I will fulfill the promise I made to the house of Israel and the house of Judah. In those days and at that time I will cause a righteous Branch to spring up for David, and he shall execute justice and righteousness in the land.

On Thursday, November 29, I was so thankful to be able to teach an Advent lesson on the life of Mary, the mother of Jesus, to the ladies at my church. It was a challenging lesson to prepare, and I spent a long time on it, wading through way more Scripture passages than most one-hour meetings would tackle. Although I was afraid of being boring or of talking too much, I took my husband’s advice and just went with it; I told the Advent story from Mary’s perspective. I learned so much from her, and the best thing I learned was that, for all of her unique and miraculous experiences with the Savior of the world as her Son, her last appearance in the Bible leaves her exactly where we are, praying and waiting for the fullness of the Second Advent:

…as they were looking on, he was lifted up, and a cloud took him out of their sight. And while they were gazing into heaven as he went, behold, two men stood by them in white robes, and said, “Men of Galilee, why do you stand looking into heaven? This Jesus, who was taken up from you into heaven, will come in the same way as you saw him go into heaven.”

Then they returned to Jerusalem from the mount called Olivet, which is near Jerusalem, a Sabbath day’s journey away. And when they had entered, they went up to the upper room, where they were staying, Peter and John and James and Andrew, Philip and Thomas, Bartholomew and Matthew, James the son of Alphaeus and Simon the Zealot and Judas the son of James. All these with one accord were devoting themselves to prayer, together with the women and Mary the mother of Jesus, and his brothers.

(Acts 1:9-14 ESV)

On Friday, November 30, I was so thankful to share in the joy of my pastor and his wife as they shared the 20-week sonogram findings of their miracle baby! Hallelujah and praise the Lord, for He is good, and the little blessing is growing strong and healthy. 😀  Reminds me of the little tune I made up to sing to my blessing baby while he was growing in my belly (it doesn’t rhyme–I can’t do that.) :

Little baaaaby
You’re so sweet and tiiiiiiny
I just wanna hooold you
So grow big ‘n’ strong!

I am so thankful.
I'd love to hear your thoughts!

