My First Day!

It’s officially my first day on the job as a stay-at-home mom/housewife! Yahoo! (Okay, since there are no weekend, holiday, or personal/sick day allowances on my new job, I guess my first day was Saturday. Those days just felt regular, though.)

So what does a day in the life of a full-time mommy whose baby is still in utero look like? Well, I’m glad you asked! We have LOTS to do! The first thing is to eliminate the chance for laziness, because this momma really likes sleeping and wasting time on the Facebook. So, Bennett and I began our day by getting up with Daddy at 7 a.m. We had breakfast and wished him a good day, then set about our first morning walk. (Eight in the morning is already a little late for a morning walk in summertime Texas, we found out, so we’ll be adjusting our time.)  Before coming inside, we gave our garden a little drink.

Next up: Bible study! Bennett listened to Psalm 1 and Psalm 139, then momma read through a bit of Deuteronomy and had prayer time. It was so great to NOT have a time limit like we usually do before school. My relationship with the Lord always deepens during the summer months when my schedule is more relaxed. I’m looking forward to this precious time to share with and pray with my baby!

That brings us right up to this moment! Bennett is having a little nap while I write to you. It’s only about ten in the morning, and we have lots more to do. I plan to make a daily schedule–which I’m excited about, because I love planning–but I think it will take some experimenting to see what works for me. In general, I plan to include exercise, Bible study/prayer, writing (not just blogging) and reading, and household chores every day.

I am so thankful for my new job, and for the husband who is willing to sacrifice so that we can pursue this new adventure!

5 thoughts on “My First Day!

  1. this is my second week at home and im pretty surprise at how busy i have kept myself. don’t get me wrong, i have had some lazy days which have been great but it’s also nice staying active! enjoy!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

